← Investigations

New Mexico's civic-board network

Who serves on the boards of New Mexico's chambers of commerce, civic nonprofits, and education advocacy groups — and the people who sit on more than one. Search a board or a person to isolate them and their direct connections, then click any connection to open up its connections, one step at a time. Export whatever you trace.

Coverage: a documented snapshot, not a census. Seats are compiled from organizations' own published board rosters, IRS filings, funder grant disclosures, and campaign-finance reports, as collected in mid-2026. Rosters change and no organization's list here is guaranteed complete — absence from this map means only that a seat isn't in the compiled records yet. Use the legend to filter by type.

Tracing:
Search an entity, or click any dot to start tracing

Source: organizations' published board rosters, IRS Form 990 filings, funder grant disclosures, and New Mexico campaign-finance reports (public records), compiled with the Lab's custom-built data tools and provided as a research aid. Board membership changes over time and titles vary by organization; the official record governs — verify against the source before relying on any entry, and email research@nmimpactlab.org with corrections. See our methodology.

Documented funding in the same network

Grants, contributions, and election spending connecting the funders, advocacy organizations, and recipients that appear on the map above — each flow as reported in the underlying public filing. Band width scales with the square root of the amount, so large national grants don't flatten the smaller in-state flows; dashed bands are documented relationships whose amounts the filings don't state. Hover any band or block for the detail.

money into the networkmoney the network deploys    amount not stated
Gates Foundation → City Fund: $10M (contribution(s)) — national grantmaking, not NM-specific$10MGates Foundation → The New Teacher Project: amount not stated in compiled filings (contribution(s))Daniels Fund → Excellent Schools New Mexico: $900K (contribution(s))$900KFidelity Foundation → Partnership for Community Action: $400K (contribution(s))$400KW.K. Kellogg Foundation → Partnership for Community Action: $200K (contribution(s))$200KLouis Calder Foundation → Excellent Schools New Mexico: $100K (contribution(s))$100KConrad N. Hilton Foundation → Partnership for Community Action: $100K (contribution(s))$100KIndividual NM donors → NMKidsCAN Action Fund: $8K (contribution(s)) — individual contributions aggregated; individuals are not named hereArnold / Hastings vehicles → City Fund: amount not stated in compiled filings (contribution(s))Walton Family Foundation → The New Teacher Project: amount not stated in compiled filings (contribution(s))Carnegie Corporation → The New Teacher Project: amount not stated in compiled filings (contribution(s))City Fund → Excellent Schools New Mexico: $1.40M (contribution(s))$1.40MCity Fund → NMKidsCAN Action Fund: $300K (contribution(s))$300KExcellent Schools New Mexico → Mission Achievement and Success: $300K (grant)$300KExcellent Schools New Mexico → East Mountain High School: $200K (grant)$200KExcellent Schools New Mexico → Thrive Community School: $81K (grant)Excellent Schools New Mexico → NM State Legislature: $25K (reported lobbying spend)NMKidsCAN Action Fund → APS Board of Education: $300K (independent expenditures) — independent expenditures supporting school-board candidates, as reported to the NM Secretary of State$300KGates Foundation — documented out: $10MGates FoundationDaniels Fund — documented out: $900KDaniels FundFidelity Foundation — documented out: $400KFidelity FoundationW.K. Kellogg Foundation — documented out: $200KW.K. Kellogg FdnLouis Calder Foundation — documented out: $100KLouis Calder FdnConrad N. Hilton Foundation — documented out: $100KConrad N. Hilton FdnIndividual NM donors — documented out: $8KIndividual NM donorsArnold / Hastings vehiclesArnold / Hastings vehiclesWalton Family FoundationWalton Family FoundationCarnegie CorporationCarnegie CorporationCity Fund — documented in: $10M; documented out: $1.70MCity FundExcellent Schools New Mexico — documented in: $2.40M; documented out: $606KExcellent Schools NMPartnership for Community Action — documented in: $700KPartnership for Community ActionNMKidsCAN Action Fund — documented in: $308K; documented out: $300KNMKidsCAN Action FundThe New Teacher ProjectTNTP (The New Teacher Project)APS Board of Education — documented in: $300KAPS school-board racesMission Achievement and Success — documented in: $300KMission Achievement & SuccessEast Mountain High School — documented in: $200KEast Mountain High SchoolThrive Community School — documented in: $81KThrive Community SchoolNM State Legislature — documented in: $25KNM Legislature (lobbying)

Source: funder grant disclosures and IRS Form 990 filings for foundation grants; New Mexico campaign-finance reports (Secretary of State) for contributions and independent expenditures. Amounts are as reported in the cited filings; the official record governs — verify against the source before relying on any figure.